When in Austin

This was my first time in Austin, and I had a BLAST! I went to visit my friend from high school who I hadn’t seen in over 3 years since she had moved from California. I was blown away at how GREEN it was, I am pretty sure that’s the first thing I said when I got off the plane. As you know, Austin in the capital of Texas, so there was lots to see, including, of course, the Capital Building.

My outfits were very basic and comfy in Texas. All black, or Black and white. Which is not my usual, but with the wide array of outdoor activities, and me not having a problem with wearing my basics, I wanted to be as simple as possible. I actually had to toss my pants, because I had worn them out! (Thank god they weren’t expensive),  but see, if I had to throw away my expensive pants, I would have been upset! (So it all worked out.)img_9121.jpgimg_9183.jpgimg_9192.jpgimg_9200.jpgimg_9205.jpg

Renata and I took a “duck tour” which is basically a tour of Austin on wheels, then the bus turns into a boat, and you sail around the lake, taking a look at all the prime real estate. 😉 This home is owned by the CEO of Samsung. (The more you know)img_9210.jpgimg_9212.jpgimg_9220.jpg

We went to Redbud Isle, an off-leash dog park right on the lake. img_9245.jpgimg_9297.jpgimg_9316.jpg

So this bundle of joy is Kyra! Kyra is my friend Renata’s dog, who actually.. is famous. Long story short, she found Kyra stranded about 2 hours away from Austin, crying in pain from a broken leg. After calling a number that was disconnected on her collar, she took out a loan, and fixed Kyra’s leg right up, few surgeries later, and they are the best of friends!! Then they got featured on Buzz Feed! You can read more of their amazing story HERE!

img_9327.jpgimg_9377.jpg

The shopping In Austin is awesome! The gold sunglasses I am sporting in these pictures are from there! We did most of our shopping on South Congress St. So many little pop in spots with all sorts of goodies and treasures. Walking around the streets, you can hear birds, and not like sparrows and crows like here in LA, but pretty chirps that you can hear all around continuously.

Another fun thing that we did (you can check out my instagram for photos) was kayaking! Wow, this was probably the highlight of my trip, and also something I was really nervous about! (this is why you should always try new things! 😉 )  I didn’t want to tip over! But once you are inside the kayak, and you feel pretty secure, (because truth is you aren’t going to fall) it was a blast!!

Overall the trip was amazing. I met great people, got to see my friend after years! and witnessed the beauty that was Austin TX.

You can follow Kyra and Renata on instagram here!

 

Comment Below

